News

Google Plus is shutting down after massive data exposure of 500K accounts

Tech giant Google is shutting down its social networking site Google Plus after a technical glitch was found to have compromised accounts and personal information of over 500,000 of its users. “However, we ran a detailed analysis over the two weeks prior to patching the bug, and from that analysis, the profiles of up to 500,000 Google+ accounts were potentially affected. Our analysis showed that up to 438 applications may have used this API,” he said.

“We found no evidence that any developer was aware of this bug, or abusing the API, and we found no evidence that any profile data was misused,” Smith said.




Sunder Pichai, the Indian-American CEO of Google, was briefed on the plan to not notify users after an internal committee had reached that decision, The Wall Street said quoting unnamed sources.

Smith, however, announced that Google Plus will not be shut down immediately. “To give people a full opportunity to transition, we will implement this wind-down over a 10-month period, slated for completion by the end of next August. Over the coming months, we will provide consumers with additional information, including ways they can download and migrate their data,” he wrote.

What should you do next?

On 9th October 2018, Google officially announced that it will be shutting down Google Plus for all the individual users. However, Google has mentioned in its blog post that it will take 10 more months to implement it. It means the user data which is exposed can still be exploited by the ones who have got the access till Google shuts down Google Plus.

Hence, it is advised by the security experts that it’s better to close all your Google Plus accounts to safeguard your personal profile data.




Google Plus

Credit: Twitter

Procedure to Close/Delete your Google Plus Account

  1. Click on the user profile picture on the right upper corner in Google Chrome browser or Gmail inbox
  2. Then click on the option ‘Google+ profile’
  3. Then you should go click on ‘Settings’
  4. Now you can deactivate your account by hitting right hot under the collar on ‘Delete your Google+ profile’
Comments

Most Popular

To Top